ABO/RPS Salomon Prize

The Salomon Prize was launched in 2011 by the Royal Philharmonic Society and Association of British Orchestras to celebrate the ‘unsung heroes' of orchestral life; the orchestral players that make our orchestras great. The award is named after Johann Peter Saloman, violinist and founding member of the Royal Philharmonic Society in 1813.

The Salomon Prize is awarded each year to a musician who has shown commitment and dedication above and beyond the expected service asked by their orchestra over a single concert season. They will have been "an inspiration to their fellow colleagues and engendered a greater spirit of teamwork within the orchestra". The winner is presented with the Salomon Prize Trophy - a soft-ground etching of Salomon made by William Daniell in 1810, sponsored by Selina and David Marks – and a cheque for £1000.

Winners to date are:

  • 2018           David Rimbault, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 2017           Lennox Mackenzie, London Symphony Orchestra
  • 2016           Graham Hall, Sinfonia Viva
  • 2015           John Cushing, Royal Scottish National Orchestra
  • 2014           Catherine Arlidge, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
  • 2013           Roy Benson, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 2012           Beatrice Schirmer, The Hallé

For further information visit https://royalphilharmonicsociety.org.uk/awards/salomon

Full terms and entry guidelines can be found on the RPS website.